User administration

Clicking on the User administration icon on the admin panel, will lead to the user administration panel. From here you will be able to see and manage the registered users.

Activating users

When a user first registers on Hopsworks, they don’t have any role and, as such, they are not allowed to perform any operation on the platform. Hopsworks users can have two roles: Hops User and Hops Admin. Hops User is the base role, it allows users to create projects, invite and get invited into projects and operate within these projects. Within a given project, each Hops user account will assume the role of either DataOwner or DataScientist. A user may have different roles in different projects. He/she may be *DataOwner in one project, but only a DataScientist in a different project. The Hops Admin role is a superuser role that allows all the operations allowed by the Hops User role and, in addition to those, it allows users to access the administration panel and manage the Hopsworks platform.

To activate a user account, as an administration, click on the modify icon on the line corresponding to the user you want to activate.

Edit user

Edit user

This will open a new page with the details of the user. In the Change Settings section, an administrator can add a role to a user. Expand the drop down menu, select Hops_User and click Add. If you want to grant admin privileges to the same user, you can repeat the operation this time selecting Hops_Admin.

Edit user

Add role to user

Next to the add user option, there is the Remove Role option. By selecting the role and clicking Remove an administrator can remove roles from a User.

Activating users without a mail server

If Hopsworks has been configured to use a mail server/provider, Hopsworks sends out an email to the newly registered user, allowing them to verify their email address. This step must be completed before they are allowed to log in.

If however, Hopsworks has not been configured to use a mail server/provider, the verification step can be bypassed by an administrator.

Edit user

Activate user

To activate an account, an administrator can select from the Change status dropdown menu the entry Activated_Account, and then click Update to change the account status.

Block/Unblock users

If an administrator deems it necessary to prevent a user to log into the platform, they can do so from the same Change Status menu shown above. They can select Blocked_Account to the prevent the user to logging in again.

If a user fails to enter their credential correctly for more than 5 times in a row, their account will be blocked. Users will have to contact an administrator to get their account unblocked. Administrators, from the same UI, will be able to change the account status from Blocked_Account back to Activated_Account.

Increase users’ max number of projects

Users are only allowed to create a limited number of projects. By default, they can only create 5 projects, but that default number can be changed during installation by setting hopsworks/max_num_proj_per_user. Please note that deleting a project will not mean that a user can now create more projects. The limit is related to the number of projects a user can create, not the number of projects a user may have created that are currently active. The reason for this approach is to prevent abuses of Yarn’s quota system, where a user could continually drop and create projects to acquire new quota.

If a user runs out of projects and wants to create more, they should contact an administrator. An administrator can increase the number of projects a user is able to create by editing their profile and, in the Change Settings section, increase the number of projects.

Increase number of projects

Increase number of projects

Reset users’ password

If a user forgets her password and security quesion, an administrator can reset it by going to the edit user page as shown above and selecting reset user password button.

Reset password

Reset password

Before confirming the reset action make sure the user email shown in the confirm dialog box is the user you want to reset the password for.

Confirm user email

Confirm user email

When sure that you have the right user click yes.

Confirm password reset

Confirm password reset

The new autogenerated password will be shown. Make sure to copy it before closing the dialog box because it cannot be retrieved later.

Copy new password

Copy new password